Ladling out Life

Dusk, there will come a time when I won’t be afraid of you anymore. Mayhap that time be coming towards me in great strides?

It is this: gaining consciousness that you’ve never been dead, for life as it “has you”; rather, you have died of a life that was meant to have you as much as you yourself acquiesced to its sovereign. Died of a life that is – and was, had you taken heed of the voices blowing all about you! – abominable to refer to as Life.

Life as some dauntingly express it: “Meh, it merely exists and defines itself in existing, insufflating its primeval breath into all that is on, and is to come to, this world”.

But alas how much deeper does the ladle stir the boiling concoction, this primordial soup of which we see but the entwining vapours. How hastily it is ladled out in neat dishes! The tastes will vary, as are fain to do the indefinite voices of the newborn pleading for a place in the world – their place in the world… “Please, sir, may I have some more please?”.

Like all things transient, from these inviting or repulsing meals the evanescent vapours flickering aloft will have their wings taken; effaced in a matter of seconds, like the oneiric shroud is in an abrupt awakening. The awakening should not be so nasty were you to be covered in morning dewdrops instead of sweat. But no two deaths are alike: imagine those of myriads…

And the particles dissolve, and the broth becomes cold: all is stale and dead. Life is hiding away somewhere, ensconced in a tiny recess: sleeping or, most likely, frozen solid.

This is what I used to maintain – the images are those I would have put forward had someone asked me where I thought Life took abode.

Now things are different.

Now I’m starting to uphold that all along, Life was sleeping deeply beside me while I lived my tormented nights. Life waited and has been waiting all along, I stand to think more strongly as time goes by. The awakening took place, and I found that the sweat was mingled with tears of gratitude and dewdrops of a new tender dawn.

The Dawn of my new days, of fresh days yet to come, which I will look upon with bright eyes and a steadfast countenance, seeking to probe both Life’s stretch of sky and depth of the abyss; eternally grateful that I was given a chance to look at them from in-between.


A TED talk I hold dear:

sarah_kay_if_i_should_have_a_daughter?utm_campaign=tedspread&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=tedcomshare

Author: Ludovica Costa

Modern Languages and Literature student – English & Russian 👩🏻‍🎓🫐🌺 | I ♡ my pug!

Leave a comment